Trump’s Travel Bans

In the first months of his presidency, Trump issued travel bans on individuals from Middle Eastern countries. The first travel ban temporarily barring 7 predominately Muslim countries from entering the US was quickly blocked by a Federal Judge in Seattle. Trump appealed to the decision, but the judge’s order was upheld. President Trump decided not to appeal this decision to the Supreme Court.

This led to Trump’s 2nd travel ban, which is a revised version of the first. The original executive order applied to current visa holders from the 7 countries, but the revised version only applied to those who have not yet been issued a visa. It only applied to 6 countries, taking Iraq off the list of affected nations. The ban on Syrian refugees was no longer permanent and Christians were not given preference in being granted refugee status.

Although the 2nd travel ban was struck down by the US Courts of Appeals in both the 4th and the 9th Circuits on June 26, 2017, the Supreme Court reinstated parts on the travel ban and agreed to hear the government’s appeals of the lower courts decisions.

On September 24, 2017, less than 3 weeks before the Supreme Court was scheduled to hear oral arguments regarding his 2nd travel ban, President Trump issued his 3rd travel ban. On December 3, 2017, the Supreme Court allowed the 3rd travel ban to go into effect on a temporary basis. The Supreme Court approved Travel Ban 3.0 on June 26, 2018.

With news concerning travel bans quickly flowing in almost every day, it may be difficult to stay informed. Our website serves as a resource for keeping up with all the latest news and highlights concerning Trump’s travel bans.


Client Reviews

Legal Guru in All Things Immigration

“Mr. Shusterman and his law firm have represented my family and me very successfully. He is not only a legal guru in all things immigration but even more so he is an exceptional human being because he empathizes with his clients and cares that justice is done.”

- Maria Davari Knapp, Chicago, Illinois
Read More Reviews

Skype Consultations Available!

Trump’s Third Travel Ban

On September 24, 2017, President Trump issued a 15-page order which would indefinitely ban travel from the following 7 countries: Iran, Libya, Syria, Yemen, Somalia, Chad and North Korea. In addition, Iraqi citizens and government officials and their families from Venezuela will face certain travel restrictions and/or heightened scrutiny when attempting to enter the United States. The travel ban became effective on October 18, 2017.

The Executive Order which implemented Travel Ban 3.0 provides that the State Department and the Customs and Border Protection (CBP) can issue waivers to persons from the affected countries who apply for a visa to come to the US, but only if they meet each of the following criteria:

  1. Denying entry would cause the applicant undue hardship;
  2. Entry would not pose a threat to national security or public safety; and
  3. Entry would be in the U.S. national interest.

To date, waivers have been granted to less than 2% of all visa applicants from the banned countries.

Below is a chart prepared by the US State Department identifies who is affected by this travel ban.

CountryNonimmigrant Visas Immigrant and Diversity

Libya No B-1, B-2, and B-1/B-2 visas No immigrant or diversity visas
North Korea No nonimmigrant visas No immigrant or diversity visas
Syria No nonimmigrant visas No immigrant or diversity visas
Venezuela No B-1, B-2 or B-1/B-2 visas of any kind for officials of the following government agencies Ministry of Interior, Justice, and Peace; the Administrative Service of Identification, Migration, and Immigration; the Corps of Scientific Investigations, Judicial and Criminal; the Bolivarian Intelligence Service; and the People’s Power Ministry of Foreign Affairs, and their immediate family members. No restrictions
Yemen No B-1, B-2, and B-1/B-2 visas No immigrant or diversity visas
Somalia No immigrant or diversity visas

Trump’s Second Travel Ban

Trump’s First Travel Ban


arvo rating shusterman law v2Best Lawyers in America Carl Shusterman Law
Super Lawyers Shusterman LawLexis Nexis Peer Review Rated Shusterman Law

What Can We Help You With - Videos

Senate Testimony

Green Cards Through Employment

Green Cards Through Marriage


View More Videos