## Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

September 16, 2019

The Honorable William P. Barr United States Attorney General U.S. Department of Justice 950 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW Washington, DC 20530-0001

## Dear Attorney General Barr:

We write to express our deep concern and opposition to the petition you filed on August 19, 2019 attempting to decertify the National Association of Immigration Judges (NAIJ), the labor union of federal immigration judges. The petition seeks to squash the collective bargaining rights of immigration judges. This effort is one of many actions the Department of Justice (DOJ) has taken that are systematically undermining the independence of immigration judges and the integrity of the judicial system. In addition, this is one of several examples where the Trump Administration has sought to dismantle unions representing the federal workforce. We urge you to withdraw your petition before the Federal Labor Relations Authority (FLRA) and take immediate steps to restore to immigration judges the powers they need to operate a fair and efficient immigration court system.

Immigration judges are classified as government attorneys despite serving in a judicial capacity, a status which leaves them particularly vulnerable to political pressure and executive branch interference. Therefore, the NAIJ serves as a critical independent voice for immigration judges who otherwise face limited discretion and authority when deciding life-altering cases. Already this Administration has made every effort to limit immigration judges' independence, management, and authority. Your predecessor and you have issued an unprecedented number of certified opinions that attempt to rewrite immigration law and strip immigration judges of docket management tools essential for the thorough and efficient processing of cases. Your abuse of the certification process has interfered with judicial independence, distorted asylum and detention laws, and is undermining public confidence in the court as a fair and impartial system. These dramatic, unilateral changes in procedure are bringing chaos, not order, to a court system that is in crisis and is struggling to manage a growing backlog of approximately one million cases.

On October 1, 2018, DOJ subjected all immigration judges to numeric case completion quotas as part of their performance reviews. This policy subjects judges to disciplinary measures, including termination of their employment, if they fail to meet strict deadlines for dispensing with cases on their docket. DOJ even unveiled new software resembling a speedometer on a car that will be used to track how quickly judges decide cases. The numeric quotas will contribute to

<sup>1</sup> https://www.justice.gov/eoir/page/file/1026721/download

the Administration's broader agenda of hasty removal proceedings that undermine the fundamental tenets of a fair and impartial process.

In spite of all these attacks on immigration judges' most fundamental authorities, the DOJ petition against the union has the audacity to contend that immigration judges are 'management officials,' who therefore are not entitled to union representation. In fact, two decades ago, DOJ made a similar attempt to decertify the judges' union, and the FLRA ruled at that time that immigration judges do not act as managers. Furthermore, in the last two years, the DOJ has eliminated any opportunity for immigration judges to serve in an advisory capacity to management officials and has repeatedly refused even to consult NAIJ on decisions affecting daily court operations. More fundamentally, this effort to decertify the NAIJ illustrates the structural flaw in the immigration court system which is not an independent judicial branch of the government but is instead a part of DOJ.

The people who appear before our nation's immigration courts deserve a system that protects fairness, due process, and impartiality. NAIJ is an important part of a fair system. Therefore, we urge you to rescind the petition to decertify the NAIJ.

Sincerely,

Linda T. Sánchez

Member of Congress

James P. McGovern Member of Congress

Eleanor Holmes Norton

Ven Lowerthal

Member of Congress

Alan Lowenthal

Member of Congress

Adam Smith

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Juan Vargas

Member of Congress

Jan Schakowsky Men ber of Congress

AILA Doc. No. 19101603. (Posted 10/16/19)

Henry C. "Hank" Johnson, Jr. Member of Congress

Grace F. Napolitano
Member of Congress

Danny & One's
Danny K. Davis
Member of Congress

Sylvia Garcia
Member of Congress

Rashida Tlaib Member of Congress

Raúl M. Grijalva Member of Congress Verrold Nadler
Member of Congress

Zoe Lofgren Member of Congress

Nydra M. Velázquez Member of Congress

Bill Foster

Member of Congress

Adriano Espaillat Member of Congress

Gwen Moore Member of Congress

Tomy Cardena Tony Cárdenas Member of Congress

Mark Pocan Member of Congress

Ro Khanna

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Ted Deutch

Member of Congress

osé E. Serrano Member of Congress Jamie Raskin Member of Congress

Grace Meng Member of Congress

Deleve Wassen Dahus Debbie Wasserman Schultz

Member of Congress

Vicente Gonzalez Member of Congress Daniel T. Kildee

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Marcy Kaptur Member of Congress

Gudy Chu

Judy Chu Member of Congress

Darren Soto Member of Congress

Albio Sires Member of Congress

Donald Norcross Member of Congress

Pramila Jayapal Member of Congress William R. Keating Member of Congress

Ben Ray Luján Member of Congress

ames R. Langevin Member of Congress

Dina Titus

Member of Congress

Brian Higgins

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Julia Brownley Member of Congress Member of Congress Steve Cohen **Xochitl Torres Small** Member of Congress Member of Congress David N. Cicilline Bobby L. Rush Member of Congress Member of Congress Mark DeSaulnier J. Luis Correa Member of Congress Member of Congress Max Rose Earl Blumenauer Member of Congress Member of Congress Bonnie Watson Coleman Filemon Vela Member of Congress Member of Congress



Susan Wild Member of Congress

Joe Neguse

Member of Congress

Mark Takano Member of Congress

Dutch Ruppersberger
Member of Congress

Jason Crow Member of Congress

Karen Bass Member of Congress Dies of Col.

Gilbert R. Cisneros, Jr. Member of Congress

Cheri Bustos

Member of Congress

John Lewis

Member of Congress

Frank Pallone, Jr.

Member of Congress

Mike Quigley

Member of Congress

Elijah E. Cummings

Member of Congress

Susan A. Davis Member of Congress

André Carson Member of Congress

Jared Huffman Member of Congress Nanette Diaz Barragán
Member of Congress

Anthony Brown
Member of Congress

Debbie Mucarsel-Powell Member of Congress

Barbara Lee Member of Congress Jesás G. "Chuy" García Member of Congress

Joseph P. Kennedy, III Member of Congress Emanuel Cleaver, II Member of Congress

Charlie Crist

Member of Congress

Donna Shalala Member of Congress